Wk 1 – Plaster Casting

It would be cheaper for me to buy a $3 bag of sand at my local Home Depot than to spend the 2 gallons of gas it would have taken me to get to the beach and back (I am a commuter) so I got my 50 lb bag of sand and went to working.

It was too hot outside, so I decided to throw some newspaper on the wood floor to do my project. We’ll find out how my roommates like this.

20160828_141655

I imagined myself creating this pretty hand sculpture that I can paint and set on my dresser to be a jewelry holder. Boy, was I wrong! The sand started falling apart and the mold wasn’t what I was hoping it would be. When I took out my project, it looked a little scary.

This won’t sit on my night stand for decoration, but maybe it’ll be a decoration for a Halloween party.

Leave a Reply

